Dec 4, 2012

Al Martino - Capitol Collectors Series (1992)

Al Martino - Capitol Collectors Series (1992)

All of Martino's major hits — "Here in My Heart," "Take My Heart," "I Love You Because," "I Love You More and More Every Day," and "Speak Softly Love" (the love theme from The Godfather) — are included on this comprehensive 25-track compilation, along with informative, lively liner notes and sparkling fidelity. The best Martino collection available.
—Stephen Thomas Erlewine,

Track List
  1. Here in My Heart
  2. Take My Heart
  3. Rachel
  4. I Love You Because
  5. When You're Mine
  6. Speak Softly Love
  7. Can't Help Falling In Love
  8. Painted, Tainted Rose
  9. Living A Lie
  10. I Love You More And More Everyday
  11. Tears and Roses
  12. Always Together
  13. We Could
  14. Hush, Hush, Sweet Charlotte
  15. Red Roses For A Blue Lady
  16. Spanish Eyes
  17. Think I'll Go Somewhere And Cry Myself To Sleep
  18. Just Yesterday
  19. Daddy's Little Girl
  20. Mary in the Morning
  21. Love Is Blue (L'amour Est Bleu)
  22. Look Around (You'll Find Me There)
  23. To The Door Of The Sun (Alle Porte Del Sole)
  24. Volare (Nel Blu Di Pinto Di Blu)
  25. The Next Hundred Years

Al Martino - We Could (1965)

Al Martino - We Could (1965)

Track List
  1. We Could
  2. I Won't Forget You
  3. You Don't Know Me
  4. Jealous Heart
  5. My Darling, I Love You
  6. Sunrise To Sunrise
  7. Always Together
  8. Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye
  9. Less Than Tomorrow
  10. Dear Heart
  11. I Don't Want To See Tomorrow

Dec 3, 2012

Al Martino - I Love You Because (1963)

Al Martino - I Love You Because (1963)

This is a great album from the talents of Al Martino arguably one of his best, a must have for any fan or collector. The vinyl is in great condition the cover has age wear but is solid and all original as issued 1963. This album has always been played on my Thorens TD 166 MK II turntable with a DynaVector 10X2 MC cartridge, with that having been said, they have been played and some are not cosmetically perfect and some may have had other owners but they are from my personal collection and have been taken care of as long as I have owned them.

Track List
  1. I Love You Because
  2. Bouquet Of Roses
  3. I Really Don't Want To Know
  4. Lonely Drifter
  5. It's A Sin
  6. Losing You
  7. Still
  8. If I Never Get To Heaven
  9. You Win Again
  10. Merry-Go-Round
  11. Just Call Me Lonesome
  12. Take These Chains From My Heart

Nov 13, 2010

Mario Lanza - Drink Drink Drink

Mario has always been very popular on this blog so I thought I give you all a little treat!

The Doctor

Oct 24, 2010

Andy Williams Sings Lonely Street

I couldn't find a video of Andy performing a track from this album but I did find this very well done slide show of Andy singing the title track of the album.


P.S. You've probably guessed I am a big Andy Williams fan, huh.

Andy Williams - Lonely Street (1959)

Andy Williams — 1959, Lonely Street

This is Williams making — for him — a very bluesy and jazzy album, full of melancholy and longing on tracks like "You Don't Know What Love Is," "In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning," "When Your Lover Has Gone," "Twilight Time," and two versions of the title track, the single version reconstructed from mono and stereo sources. Not enough o's in smooth to describe this one, Williams is nothing but spot on in this collection.
—Cub Koda,

Track List
  1. You Don't Know What Love Is
  2. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
  3. When Your Lover Has Gone
  4. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  5. Gone With the Wind
  6. Summer Love
  7. Say it Isn't So
  8. Unchained Melody
  9. Autumn Leaves
  10. Willow Weep For Me
  11. I'm So Alone
  12. Lonely Street

Andy Williams - He's All Male And Catnip To Quail (1958) **Updated**

Andy Williams - He's All Male And Catnip To Quail (1958)

He can sing sweet, but he's never sugar-y. He can keep it soft, but he can belt out a lyric, too. He's got jazz and bezazz. He's one of the he-males that slays the females. That's why everybody's wild about Williams. That's why Archie brings you all the songs Andy made famous on this Cadence record.

A high fidelity recording by CADENCE CLP-3002

From the front cover of the album. The Archie refered to on the blurb was Archie Bleyer founder of Candence Records.

This is another of those forgotten gems packed with hits from Andy's days with Candence Records. You won't find much information on this album on the web.

Track List
  1. Canadian Sunset
  2. I Like Your Kind Of Love (Peggy Powers)
  3. Walk Hand In Hand
  4. Lips Of Wine
  5. Not Anymore
  6. It Doesn't Take Very Long
  7. Baby Doll
  8. Butterfly
  9. High Upon A Mountain
  10. Stop Teasin' Me
  11. Since I've Found My Baby
  12. Straight From My Heart

Oct 20, 2010

Jack Jones - Sings (1966)

Jack Jones - Sings (1966)

Jack Jones Sings — a wonderfully understated title befitting a wonderfully understated LP — captures the crooner at his most effortlessly appealing. Buoyed by Ralph Carmichael's feather-light string arrangements, Jones exhibits a confidence and depth that more conventionally dynamic vocalists can't match. His fluid yet sculpted approach communicates the maturity of his material without relying on cheap theatrics. Jones reveals new meaning and nuance in familiar songs like "Somewhere There's Someone" and "The Face I Love," while Doug Talbert's piano notes twinkle like stars, further underscoring the music's nocturnal atmosphere. This is adult music in the strictest sense, articulating feelings and emotions lost on the young.
—Jason Ankeny, All Music Guide

  1. A Day In The Life Of A Fool
  2. Autumn Leaves
  3. Somewhere There's Someone
  4. Watch What Happens
  5. People Will Say We're In Love
  6. Love After Midnight
  7. Somewhere My Love
  8. The Shining Sea
  9. The Face I Love
  10. The Eyes Of Love
  11. Once Upon A Time
  12. I Don't Care Much
Revised 06-03-2012